The House of Representatives voted against Russia’s participation in the Big Seven meetings


The House of Representatives of the US Congress adopted a bill aimed at preventing Russia from participating in the Big Seven (G7) meetings and restoring the G8 format with the participation of the Russian Federation.

The document provides for a ban on the use of federal funds by the Washington administration in order to “support or assist Russia’s participation in the G7 meetings and the restoration of the G8 with the participation of the Russian Federation.”

According to the bill, this measure should cease to be effective only after the US Secretary of State and Director of National Intelligence can assure lawmakers that Russia, “has stopped any interference in elections in the US or in other G7 countries, NATO and EU states,” fully complies its obligations within the framework of the Minsk agreements, “stopped the illegal occupation of Crimea …, South Ossetia and Abkhazia” and “withdrew its troops and weapons from Transnistria.”

Now the initiative will have to consider the Senate, where the majority now belongs to the Republicans.

If the bill is approved by the upper house, it will go to the head of state for signature.

Add a comment